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Question 1 
A No ball is played by the striker and the ball accidently lodges in a close-in fielder’s pocket. Not 

knowing where the ball is, the batters immediately take off for a run. The fielder collects the ball 

from her pocket, putting the wicket down with the striker out of her ground. There is an appeal. 

What happens now? 

- Striker is out, Run out. 

- Bowler’s end umpire to signal No ball. 

 

Question 2 

A striker initially makes contact with the ball using his bat then, for the sole purpose of guarding 

his wicket, kicks the ball away and into the outfield. The batters commence running and have 

crossed on their first run when the bowler’s end wicket is fairly put down with the striker short 

of their ground. There is an appeal. What happens now?  
- Striker is out, Run out. 

- Non-striker returned to bowler’s end. 

- Incoming batter to the striker’s end. Laws 34.3 & 34.4 

 

Question 3 

A No ball is played by the striker into the outfield and the batters run. As the bowler’s end umpire, 

you notice the striker fail to make good their ground on the first run before the batters go on to 

complete a further two runs. When the ball becomes dead, you begin to signal short run to the 

scorers when you hear your colleague calling “short run” as well. What happens now? 

- Revoke the signal, No ball first 

- Dead ball, collect the ball and consult your partner. 

- Both short, same run = one short run. 

- Same batter, different runs = two short runs. Laws 18.3 & 18.4 



 
 

Question 4 
a) The sixth wicket falls and the umpire calls “Time” to commence an interval for drinks.      

When does the next batter’s innings commence? 

 At the call of “Play”. Law 25.2 

b) The seventh wicket falls immediately after the interval for drinks.  

When does the next batter's innings commence? 

 First steps onto the field of play. Law 25.2 

 

Question 5 

The striker has a runner. He hits the ball and he, his runner and the non-striker all run. They have 

completed one run when the wicket at the wicket-keeper's end is fairly put down. There is an 

appeal. How shall the striker’s end umpire answer it? 

- The injured striker is out, Run out. 

- Completed run is disallowed. 

- Return the not out batter to the bowler’s end. Law 25.6.5 

 

Question 6 
The striker has a runner. She hits the ball and she, her runner and the non-striker all run. They 

have completed one run when the wicket at the bowler's end is fairly put down. There is an 

appeal. How shall the bowler’s end umpire answer it? 

- Not out. One run scored. 

- If the ball is still regarded as in play and the striker’s end wicket is then put down, the 
injured striker is out, Run out. Run is disallowed. Law 25.6 

 

Question 7 

A fairly delivered ball first hits the pad of the striker who has made no attempt to play the ball 

with her bat nor try to avoid it. Before touching the ground, the ball  inadvertently contacts her 

bat and is caught on the full by a fielder. How does the umpire answer the appeal?  

- Out, caught. 

- Ball counts. Law 23.2.1 



 
 

Question 8 
A fairly delivered ball first hits the pad of the striker who has made no attempt to play the ball 

with her bat nor try to avoid it. The ball then inadvertently contacts her bat and runs into the 

field. The batters start to run and have crossed when the ball contacts a helmet placed on the 

ground behind the wicket-keeper. What happens now? 

- Ball immediately dead. 

- Returns batters to original ends. 

- No runs scored from that delivery. 

- Ball counts. Law 23.2.1 

 

Question 9 
A fairly delivered ball first hits the pad of the striker who has made no attempt to play the ball 

with his bat nor try to avoid being hit by it. The ball then inadvertently contacts his bat and runs 

into the field. The batters start to run and have crossed when the wicket at the striker’s end is 

fairly put down with the non-striker well short of his ground. There is an appeal. How shall the 

striker’s end umpire answer it? 

- Out, run out. 

- Return striker to his original end. 

- Incoming batter to the bowler’s end. 

- Ball counts. Law 23.2.1 

 

Question 10 

The striker hits the ball high in the air towards a fielder. The batters complete one run and turn 

for a second as the fielder is about to catch the ball. The non-striker shouts, "drop it!"  

The fielder drops the attempted catch, but appeals. How does the umpire answer the appeal?  

- Striker is out, Obstructing the field. 

- Incoming batter to the bowler’s end.  

- Run not scored. Law 37.3.1 

 

 



 
 

Question 11 
The striker hits a No ball high in the air towards a fielder. The batters complete one run and turn 

for a second as the fielder is about to catch the ball. The non-striker shouts, "drop it!"  

The fielder drops the attempted catch, but appeals. How does the umpire answer the appeal? 

- Non-striker is out, Obstructing the field. 

- Two runs scored = one No ball + one completed run. 

- Incoming batter to the striker’s end. Law 37.3.3 

 

Question 12 

Stumps is scheduled for 5:30pm. The fifth wicket of an innings falls at 4:05pm. There is a delay of 

four minutes with no new batter appearing, yet no appeal from the fielding side for Timed out. 

The umpires call “Time” at 4:09pm and investigate the matter. The umpires find that the batting 

side is not refusing to play and the match resumes at 4:18pm.     

a) What time is play due to end for the day? 

 5.40pm (4.08-4.18pm = 10 mins) 

b) After the investigation, there is an appeal for Timed out. What happens now? 

 Not out. 

c) What if, after four minutes had initially elapsed and before the umpires called “Time”, an 

appeal was made for Timed out. What would happen then? 

 A batter is out, Timed out. Batting captain to inform the umpire. Law 40.1.2 

 

Question 13 
The wicket-keeper is up to the stumps for a spinner when the striker attempts to play a late cut 

to a ball which has already passed the line of their wicket. In playing the shot, the striker collects 

the wicket-keeper’s gloves and is unable to play the ball. What happens now? 

- Call and signal Dead ball. 

- Ball not to count. Law 20.4.2.6 

- The striker is allowed to play the ball, and guard their wicket, without interference from 
the fielding side. This enables the striker to play a late cut, or to follow the ball round on 
the leg side and hit it after it has passed the line of the wicket. If the wicket-keeper 



 
 

interferes with this, it is likely to be accidental and the call of Dead ball and the ball not 
counting in the over is the only action required. Tom Smith’s pg.247 

 

Question 14 
A 20-minute Tea interval is scheduled for 3:10pm. At 2:30pm, the players and umpires leave the 

field of play due to rain. It is still raining at 2:40pm. At what time shall the Tea interval be taken? 

- Tea remains at the scheduled time of 3.10pm unless the umpires and captains together 

agree to alter it. Laws 11.6.4 & 11.4 

 

Question 15 

A 20-minute Tea interval is scheduled for 3:10pm. The side batting are eight wickets down when 

a batter retires at 3:08pm. What happens now? 

- Take Tea immediately 

- The retirement of a batter is not equivalent to a wicket falling. Law 11.7 

 

Question 16 
A 40-minute Lunch interval is scheduled for 12:30pm. The ninth wicket of the innings falls off the 

last ball of the over in progress at 12:33pm. What happens now? 

- Play continues. 

- Extra 30 mins. 

- Commencement of Lunch interval rescheduled to the end of the over in progress at 1pm. 

- Lunch 40 mins duration. Law 11.7 

 

Question 17 

You are the bowler’s end umpire. The striker hits the third ball of the over into the covers and 

runs. The batters have crossed on their first run when, the striker stumbles and collapses, failing 

to make her ground at the bowler’s end. The fielding side return the ball to the bowler’s end, but 

do not attempt a Run out. She recovers and is able to continue her innings. 

a) What shall you do? Call and signal Dead ball. 

b) How many runs are scored? One run is scored and credited to the striker. 



 
 

c) Who shall face the next delivery? Non-striker for that delivery. 

d) How many balls remain in the over? Three. Law 18.9 

Question 18 

The non-striker, attempting to run on a ball that has gone through to the wicket-keeper, sees 

that he will be out of his ground if the wicket-keeper throws down the stumps. He throws his bat 

at the wicket, dislodging the bails just before the ball hits the stumps. There is an appeal. What 

happens now? 

- Out, Obstructing the field. Law 37.1.1 

- “Any act by a batter, designed to reduce the capacity of the fielding side to field the ball 
or secure a dismissal, is Obstructing the field.’” Tom Smith’s pg.312  

 

Question 19 

You are the striker’s end umpire. The scores are level with the batting side nine wickets and one 

ball remaining. The delivery is called and signalled Wide. The wicket-keeper, who is up to the 

stumps, puts the wicket down with the striker out of her ground not attempting a run.  

a) There is an appeal. What is your response, and consequently, the result of the match? 

Team batting wins by one wicket. Laws 16.6 & 22.2 

b) After the players and umpires leave the field, a mistake is found in scoring which leaves 

the scores level. Does the result of the match change? What happens now? 

 Resume play, one ball remaining. Law 16.9 

 

Question 20 
You and your partner arrive at the ground early on the second day of the match and observe the 

fielding side practising on the square, right next to the match pitch. What action do you take? 

- Approval had not been sought from the umpires. 

- Issue a first and final warning for contravening practising on the field. 

- Match warning. Laws 26.1.2 & 26.4 

 



 
 

Question 21 
An injured batter with a runner is on strike. Before the ball reaches the striker, you notice the 

runner has left their ground. The striker hits the fairly delivered ball high in the air and the runner 

and non-striker start to run. A fielder takes a fair catch, with both the runner and the non-striker 

having completed one run and commenced a second.   

a) What action shall the striker’s end umpire take? Consult with partner.  

b) What action shall the bowler’s end umpire take? Out, Caught.  

c) There are still two balls remaining in the over, who faces the next delivery?  

Incoming batter. Law 25.7 


