Getting Involved

BECOMING AN UMPIRE

NSW Cricket Umpires' and Scorers' Association (NSWCUSA) facilitates training courses on the Laws of Cricket for prospective umpires across NSW.

Umpiring is open to men and women of all ages and stages of life. Umpires range from young people wanting to be involved in cricket to retirees wanting to stay active and participate in a worthwhile community activity on a weekend. If you want to be an umpire, and make a contribution to cricket, there is a place for you umpiring Australia’s favourite sport in one of our many competitions in NSW.

The course is suited to prospective umpires, team captains and players, club officials, coaches and team managers.

There is an assessment task on the Laws of Cricket held at the conclusion of the course.

Completing this task to an acceptable standard enables the candidate to apply for membership of NSWCUSA.

NSWCUSA members officiate in NSW Premier Cricket Association and Sydney Shires competitions, and also in representative programs of NSW Country Cricket Association.

We currently have member Rodney Tucker officiating in matches at international level as a member of the ICC Elite Umpire Panel, while NSWCUSA members Gerard Abood, Greg Davidson, Anthony Wilds, Simon Lightbody, Claire Polosak, Ben Treloar all receive appointments as contracted professional umpires to officiate in Cricket Australia Competitions.

For information regarding upcoming training courses on the Laws of Cricket, being held at Cricket NSW, please contact the NSWCUSA Administration Manager, Troy Penman, on troy.penman@cricketnsw.com.au or 0425 201 835.

For details of umpire training programs in regional NSW please contact the relevant Zone Umpire Representative:

ACT Southern Districts: -
Central Coast: Don Maisey - dmaisey@westnet.com.au
Central North: Gary Crombie - gary_crombie@hotmail.com
Greater Illawarra: Neil Findlay - nwfindlay@hotmail.com
Newcastle: Kim Norris - kimnorris@bigpond.com
North Coast: Paul Dilley - pdilley@bigpond.net.au
Riverina: Pat Kerin OAM - pk1951@bigpond.net.au
Western: Graeme Glazebrook - graeme.glazebrook@bigpond.com

BECOMING A SCORER

Scoring is an important role in cricket, and a great way for non-playing members of the cricket community to be involved in the game.

Training courses for prospective scorers are conducted by the NSW Cricket Umpires' and Scorers' Association (NSWCUSA) which has a dedicated Scorers Committee for this purpose.

Please contact the Committee for information on scorer training through the Chair Merilyn Fowler at nswscorers@gmail.com

We trust you enjoy your scoring, it’s a great way to contribute to and remain involved in the game of cricket. We look forward to welcoming you to one of our training courses!

Events

Upcoming Education Events to feed your brain.